MRSA from our Livestock?

I just seriously lost my appetite for meat. Don’t get me wrong, I love eating animals, but not if 25% of the meat on the market is contaminated with drug-resistant Staph! Read for yourself: US Meat and Poultry Is Widely Contaminated With Drug-Resistant Staph Bacteria, Study Finds

“”For the first time, we know how much of our meat and poultry is contaminated with antibiotic-resistant Staph, and it is substantial,” said Lance B. Price, Ph.D., senior author of the study and Director of TGen’s Center for Food Microbiology and Environmental Health.

“The fact that drug-resistant S. aureus was so prevalent, and likely came from the food animals themselves, is troubling, and demands attention to how antibiotics are used in food-animal production today,” Dr. Price said.

Densely-stocked industrial farms, where food animals are steadily fed low doses of antibiotics, are ideal breeding grounds for drug-resistant bacteria that move from animals to humans, the report says.”

 Now, if you read the article you know that by using proper cooking and handling methods you should be able to kill the bacteria just fine. I’m not going to throw out the meat in my fridge or anything, but I will be increasing the amount of vegetarian meals we eat (a good idea anyway) and looking for locally-raised antibiotic-free meats.

Luckily, living in Oregon, I have some really good local options, including some people that live right down the road from us. With the way gas prices are rising, which will in turn raise shipping costs, local becomes an even more attractive option. The farmers’ markets around here have been wonderful for my relationship with fruits and vegetables, now seems like a good time to do the same with meat!

Anyway, I was just shocked when I saw that in the science news this morning and I had to share. I want to write up more recipes and meal-ideas so keep an eye out for that and I will update how my search for affordable local options goes. Everything I cook/eat has to be delicious first and foremost or I simply won’t eat it. I have very little appetite so this is extremely important. After that, I have 3 criteria: It has to be affordable, uncomplicated, and healthy. This is easier than it sounds… stay tuned and I will prove it!

This entry was posted in Science and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

