Awesome Brownies – Gluten Free Dairy Free

Happy Birthday to ME! I made myself these brownies for the 4th or 5th time, so it’s time to share the recipe! I think the different than usual procedure is what makes them so good…

These do not last very long in my house...

Gluten-Free Dairy-Free Corn-Free Soy-Free (but not Guilt-free) BROWNIES!

3/4 c. Cocoa
1/2 tsp. Baking Soda
1/3 c. Vegetable Oil
1/2 c. Boiling Water
2 c. Sugar*
2 Eggs
1/3 c. Vegetable Oil
1 1/3 c. GF Flour (I usually use 1/2 c. rice flour, 1/2 c. tapioca flour, 1/3 c. garbanzo bean flour)
1 tsp. Vanilla
1/4 tsp. Salt

* This last time I used 1 1/2 cups sugar and they were still sweet enough, although more cake-like than brownie-like. Which I’m okay with.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease a 9×13 baking dish. In large bowl, stir cocoa and baking soda. Add boiling water and first 1/3 c. oil and mix well. Stir in sugar, eggs and remaining 1/3 c. oil. Add flour, vanilla and salt. Mix just until flour is absorbed and pour into baking dish. Bake 35-40 minutes, or until toothpick inserted comes up clean. I actually pull mine at 35 minutes, before the toothpick comes up clean to get really fudge-y brownies. They also get better if you cover them with plastic wrap and let them sit over night in the fridge (if they last that long, it’s worth it).

That’s it! Super easy, right?

I am not responsible for you eating an entire batch within 24 hours. Just sayin'.

This entry was posted in Life, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Awesome Brownies – Gluten Free Dairy Free

  1. So easy! yet delicious!!! Could you send me a bite? 😀

    • oddtonic says:

      Thanks!I would but I don’t know if it would last the trip out to the mailbox… It’s been about 21 hours since they came out of the oven and they’re almost gone 😉

  2. paedra says:

    Your recipes reads absolutely yummy. I recently baked a gluten-free chocolate cake replacing the wheat with chestnuts http://www.potsandpickles.com/crunchy-chestnut-chocolate-cake-2/, and discovered a whole new world of healthy culinary experiences. Fabulous! Your brownies are on my list next 🙂

    • oddtonic says:

      Awesome! I just made these again a couple days ago 🙂 It’s warmer now, I pulled them out at 30 minutes and they were well done so you may need to adjust the time. Just do the toothpick test 😀

  3. Rishi says:

    dairy free? and yet theres eggs in the recipe??? :/

    • oddtonic says:

      So far, I can still do eggs so I haven’t tried an egg substitute. The egg helps it hold together since it is lacking gluten, but I think flax seed meal and water might work. If I try it I’ll update the recipe with that option!

  4. Triona says:

    Is it possible to sub the veg oil for olive oil or is that just weird? they look great!

    • oddtonic says:

      It’s possible but I wouldn’t recommend it in this recipe. I’ve noticed when I use olive oil in baking I have trouble getting any rise out of the batter and I end up with a dense, oily, kinda yucky result. The taste might be an issue too, but I just really had a problem with the texture. Hope this helps!

  5. Tina says:

    Vegetable oil is soy so this is not soy free. And eggs are dairy but usually not the thing I avoid. Have you tried coconut oil? I think I will make these but use that instead to see what happens.

    • oddtonic says:

      Thanks! I use coconut oil exclusively now and it is the best for baking. I also use palm oil and peanut oil when I need a soy and corn free vegetable oil. By “dairy” I mean anything from cow’s milk. 1 tbsp Chia seed in about a half cup of warm water works great as an egg replacer too, so that is my go-to if I want to skip eggs!

  6. Tina says:

    I made them using coconut oil instead of the vegetable oil. And I used white bean flour instead of the garbanzo bean flour since I had no garbanzo beans on hand. They are super yummy. Did you use a double batch? My brownies didn’t turn out as thick and I followed the recipe. I cut the sugar down to 1 cup of turbinado sugar. It did end up more cake like but I prefer less sugar. Thanks oddtonic for the recommendations for egg replacers I will try sometime.

Leave a Reply

