Wicked Good Pumpkin Bread – Gluten free, Dairy free, Soy free

Warning: This Pumpkin Bread may cause uncontrollable urges to sneak into the kitchen and eat more! I made the full batch – two loaves – for Thanksgiving the night before. At midnight. Half a loaf was missing before I got up the next day. Ok, I admit that was mostly me as soon as it cooled down enough to cut, but still. Be careful! The rest was gone by the end of Thanksgiving and I got requests from everyone for the recipe… so here ya go!

Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Soy-free Wicked Good Pumpkin Bread
(2 Loaves)

1 c. Vegetable Shortening (I used one made of non-hydrogenated palm oil)

3 c Sugar (1 c brown sugar, 2 c white or whatever you have)

3 Eggs or Egg Replacer

1 tsp Vanilla

2 tbs Hemp Milk, almond milk or other milk alternative

3 c Gluten Free Flour Mix (I did 2 c Rice flour, + 1 c Tapioca Flour)

2 tsp Cream of Tartar

2 tsp Baking Soda

1 tsp Cinnamon

1 tsp Cardamom

1 tsp Nutmeg

1 tsp Salt

3 c Solid Pack Pumpkin (I roasted 2 small sugar pumpkins this year and got almost 8 c of yummy pumpkin!)

Preheat oven at 350 degrees. (If you want to half the recipe, it still works.) Cream the shortening and sugar together, cream it real good. I put both in a large bowl and set it on my lap. This is one of the secrets to getting really good quick bread or cookies. Using a wooden or plastic spoon works better than a metal one. What you want is for the fat and sugar to get really happy together before the next ingredients go in.

process picture of mixing ingredients

Cream it real good. This is also a really great arm workout.

Once you’re there, add the eggs one at a time, mixing them in really well also.  In another bowl, combine dry ingredients. Add flour mixture to cream and sugar and egg mix a little bit at a time. Add the pumpkin last.

pumpkin bread

This is the part where I'm impatient and get flour mixture everywhere.

Put into 2 well-greased 5×9 loaf pans, or 2 9″ circle pans. Or one of each, like I did, because that’s all you have in the house… My round pan took 50 minutes and my loaf pan was done around 1 hour 15 minutes. The clean toothpick test is key here.

yummy pumpkin cake bread

I admit I ate half of this before I remembered to take a picture...

What really drove the point home was the icing. It was a sweet bread plain… with icing it is more like pumpkin spice cake! I would leave off the icing and use less sugar (like 2 cups) if I wanted it more “bread” like – but once I tasted it with the icing I knew I would never change a thing with this recipe. I’m hooked for life. All I did for the icing was combine

3 c Powdered Sugar (Whole foods brand has tapioca starch instead of corn starch like almost all the rest)

3+ tbsp Warm Water

That’s it! Just a simple glaze, but put it on warm and it sinks in and does some magic with the pumpkin bread. If you can resist temptation until the next day, the inside of the “bread” solidifies, denses up and gets this melt-in-your-mouth quality that we’ve named “puddnification”. Another example of puddnification is iced chocolate layer cake after being refrigerated overnight. Try it.

gluten free dairy free soy free

Second loaf goes into the fridge to undergo "puddnification" for maximum yum factor.

Enjoy! This recipe can be used for other squash too, and it actually started as my banana bread recipe so go crazy with that. Don’t say I didn’t warn you!

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wicked Good Pumpkin Bread – Gluten free, Dairy free, Soy free

  1. kzettler says:

    ok, after loving the pizza dough recipe, I had to disect your blog for all the recipes you have to offer. Now its this one, its in the oven now. I just can’t wait. I used turban squash because I had gotten one and it baked off about 5 cups of the stuff inside. The raw dough tasted amazing. I did put some xanthan gum in mine. I also used 1 pkg knox unflavored gelatin nixted with 5 tbs warm water for each for each egg. We shall see how it comes out. I’m putting the icing on it too!! I also put less salt in it only 1/4 tsp due to salt restrictions. I can’t wait!!

    • oddtonic says:

      Awesome! Thanks for testing for me, I’m really interested in how the egg replacement works! My neighbor is also trying this recipe out, I can’t wait to hear! Also, try not to eat it straight out of the oven – it hurts ;) ow.

Leave a Reply

