Gluten-free dairy-free egg-free Pizza Dough Recipe

This Pizza dough recipe has some backstory… Scroll down for the recipe and pizza pics…

For the last 6 months I have been wheat/gluten-free, soy-free, and corn-free. I’ve been dairy-free for 2 years now after discovering a major allergy to cow’s milk. I’ve also been pregnant for the last 5 months! This has created quite the culinary challenge for me… Deal with MAJOR food aversions and VERY specific cravings while being EXTRA careful to avoid all these allergens. My bland no-food-diet worked for a month or two, until… PIZZA.

Yes, agony of agonies, I was forced to wait inside a pizzeria while my dearest got a couple slices for the road. Well, not forced, he elected to go without any food to spare me but I insisted I’d be fine.

WRONG.

Smelling the melty, cheesy, saucy, fresh-baked pepperoni goodness sent me into a frenzy. I became utterly obsessed, like, crazy-pregnant-lady I-WILL-LEAP-OVER-THE-COUNTER-AND-BITE-YOUR-FACE-OFF-IF-YOU-DON’T-GIVE-ME-PIZZA obsessed, while also knowing that everything there was loaded with death and hives for me. With-holding pizza is an extreme form of cruel and unusual punishment for anyone, let alone crazy pregnant women. The gauntlet had been thrown down.

After dropping him off at work, I went straight over to New Seasons and spent way too much money on nothing-added fancy salami and a mild goat cheese I thought would sub for mozzarella. I made up a tomato sauce almost from scratch and sliced all my favorite veggie toppings, figuring more toppings would distract me from it not being the traditional greasy pepperoni pizza I so loved before the milk allergy. I tried it on rice cakes, I tried it in an omlette, but it just wouldn’t do… I had to have that authentic pizza crust to satiate the hormone-induced frenzy.

This is the recipe I tweaked to get my gluten-free pizza nom on. Thankfully, it is one of the easiest and best tasting crusts I have ever made from scratch and makes awesome breadsticks too!

Gluten-free (dairy-free egg-free soy-free corn-free) Pizza Dough Recipe

1 (.25 oz) package dry active yeast

1 tsp White sugar

1 c. Warm water (~110-115 degrees F, my hot tap water is real close)

2 1/2 c GF Flour** (see below for my cheap flour mix)

2 tbs Olive oil

1 tsp Salt

** I can’t stand spending a ton of money on tiny packages of GF flour and still have to avoid corn meal, so here’s what I do: I go to my local 24 hr bulk-buy grocery store (Winco) and buy white rice flour and tapioca flour in bulk. 1 cup tapioca flour and 1 1/2 cups rice flour will give you a neutral tasting GF flour that has some binding power thanks to the tapioca. The longer you let the dough/batter sit, the better it will hold together. A little xantham gum would help but I never have it on hand. I’ll also buy garbanzo bean flour on sale sometimes and do 1 c. rice flour, 3/4 c. tapioca flour and 3/4 c. bean flour to add some protein, fiber and iron to my GF flour mix. You can make a bunch up ahead of time with these ratios and use it like regular flour. I’ve started experimenting with buckwheat too, but that’s another post.**

Preheat oven to 450 degrees (or wait if you’re going to let the dough sit and get happy a while, helpful but not necessary). Dissolve yeast and sugar in warm water and let stand 10 minutes – it’ll get all frothy. Stir in flour, salt and oil. Beat until smooth and let rest 5 minutes at least. Turn dough onto flour (I just use plain rice flour here) and pat it round. Transfer dough to greased pizza pan…

Here is where you would let it sit and get happy if you have patience, or even put extra dough in the fridge for the next day. It will rise more and the crust won’t be so crumbly. Also, I’ve found mini-pizzas hold together much better…

Put your sauce and toppings on …

I don't have a pizza pan so this is half the dough in my biscuit pan.

and bake 15-20 minutes.

I tried baking the crust part way first, but found that it holds together much better when the sauce and toppings are on it before baking. For breadsticks, pat the dough out, spread 3-4 tbsp olive oil, sprinkle with salt, pepper, basil, oregano and garlic and bake 10-15 mins or until golden. Baking at 425 will make the breadsticks softer. Also, if you’re a garlic fiend like me, lightly saute a few cloves of garlic in the olive oil before you spread it on to get more evil garlicky goodness.

This is my second pizza, with sausage (gr. beef w rice flour & seasonings), zucchini, bell pepper, onion, mushrooms and goat cheese..

Yummy! Craving sated.

This entry was posted in Life, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Gluten-free dairy-free egg-free Pizza Dough Recipe

  1. Looks yummy. Just found out I can’t have cheese. Been gluten-free for less then a year and can’t eat eggs very often. Maybe I will be making this soon.

    • lou says:

      Have you tried goats cheese? Im lactose intolerant and hated it until i found I can eat goats cheese and butter!!! But not goats milk.

  2. oddtonic says:

    I have actually had to quit tomatoes since writing this, which would be a bummer but I have just gotten used to finding novel alternatives to satisfy food cravings. So I’ll have to try making one of those white-sauce pizzas or just bread sticks. It’s weird how once I noticed 1 allergy and eliminated it, I started noticing more! I just call it a blessing in disguise now because I am a much better cook and eating much healthier and yummier food because I make everything from scratch. Have fun experimenting with the food you can have and best of luck!

    • Melanie says:

      Completely agree with your blessing in disguise comment. Our whole family is eating healthier as a result of avoiding our sons’ food allergies. I made this pizza for my oldest son tonight and he LOVED it. Thanks for the delicious recipe.

      • oddtonic says:

        So glad he liked it! Kids are the toughest critics :D I really, really, really want to put more recipes up – I have been busy cooking and eating them while juggling my baby LOL. Thank you for letting me know what you thought!

    • Kim says:

      There is a product out there called Nomato and it’s not bad. Add the Italian Seasoning and it’s almost like a pizza or spaghetti sauce. My daughter couldn’t have tomatoes for a while so had to figure something out.

    • karen says:

      I found out back in January my food allergies were back with a Vengance. Dairy and egg allergies were back. Since then I’ve found out I’m gluten intolerant, makes me what I call “extremely butt dragging tired” for days. I’m also allergic to all tree nuts, peanuts too, and chia seeds. Since being off all these foods I’ve lost 22 lbs. I feel better, I have more energy and I feel healthier. I’m slowly learning to cook using rice milk and knox block unflavored gelatin for eggs. So far I’ve learned to make banana/blueberry pancakes. Now I can’t wait to try your pizza crust. Hubby and I have been craving pizza since this all started. He won’t eat certain things around me that I can’t eat. The baking part is what I’m missing sometimes. I don’t miss bread itself all that much. And since this all started up again, I crave meat more than anything. I was a huge meat eater when I was a kid when I suffered from food allergies back then. I can’t wait to try this tonight. I have to thank hubby for finding your blog and this recipe.

  3. eka says:

    this is the first recipe i have come across that actually looks good! I’ve recently learned i’m allergic to wheat, corn, egg, soy and nuts and all other pizza base recipes seem to include those, so happy i found 1 that doesn’t! Guess dinner is sorted now. Oh, also xanthan gum is derived from corn, so it’s probably a good thing u don’t have it on hand/use it :)

    • oddtonic says:

      Thank you! Hope you like it! I have had to adjust oven temp due to weather and individual ovens, so watch for that I would say. I am no gluten-corn-soy-milk and it was the same thing… I couldn’t find a single recipe that would work! I have also heard that xanthan gum can be corn, soy or wheat but in any case I can’t do any of those LOL. I did try it once, and it made my tortillas rubbery so I don’t feel like I’m missing anything.

  4. laura says:

    THANKYOU! This is a great tasting recipe and easy peasy! my daughter loves it. We don’t use any cheese and its still yummy.

  5. Lisa says:

    Oh what a life safer. Just found out my 8 year old son is dairy, egg, gluten, wheat, hazelnut I tolerant (with about 8 more substances border line!). Don’t think he could live without his garlic bread so I’m going to try this base for tea. Thank you :) x

  6. Pam says:

    I add nutritional yeast for the cheese and it helps for those that are also dairy free.

  7. karen says:

    I tried the recipe, I did add a little of the xanthan gum about 1 TBS, I cut the salt to about 1/4tsp due to salt limitations, I added basil and oregano to the dough. The crust came out awesome!!!! I used 1 cup gluten free all purpose flour, 1 cup brown rice flour, 1/2 cup tapioca flour. Now hubby wants me to make flour batches and put it in ball jars for the pizza crust so all he has to do, is pour it out, add the water slurry and go to town. We had pizza 2 days in a row. This took care of my pizza fix for sure. I do my cheeseless, just add more sauce. thank you!!! thank you!!! thank you!!!

    • oddtonic says:

      Yay!!! I’m so glad it worked for ya :) I was so frustrated when I couldn’t find a recipe, pizza is important! :D Thank you for your feedback! Working on a pita bread next I think.

  8. Erin says:

    I have been looking for a good gluten free egg free pizza crust and I finally found it!! This crust is sooo fluffy!!! Thats hard to accomplish without egg, but you figured it out!! THANKS!!!

  9. Colleen says:

    I wrote this recipe down well over a year and a half ago and and have been using it ever since. Today, I couldn’t find it and panicked because I had promised my son, who happens to be allergic to a myriad of foods, a pizza night. Pizza night is a big deal for our kids, they get to do everything but put the pizza in the oven. This recipe fits his allergies perfectly; and it’s yummy enough that the whole family will eat it! My husband and I both have such fond memories of helping out in the kitchen as we were growing up. It’s so nice to have a recipe that we can safely make with our children. Thank you Oddtonic!

  10. Colleen says:

    BTW – I’ve found the dough freezes pretty well too! I make an extra batch for a quick fix when my son has a party to go to.

    • oddtonic says:

      Thank you so much for your comments Colleen! It’s really great to know that something so simple can help so much, it really reaffirms my wish to keep offering recipes for free so that others can enjoy them! I can’t tell you how many times I’ve been told I need to charge for these but I don’t feel it would be right. I couldn’t find a recipe when I needed it and offering my own solution for free fixes that without someone else having to struggle through failed substitutions and a million recipe tweaks!

      Thanks for the freezing tip too, I never would have thought of trying!

      Also, I can’t tell you how many times I’ve lost my own recipes and had to look them up again on my own blog :P That’s what it’s here for! :D Thanks again, Michele – Oddtonic

  11. Silvija says:

    Made the breadsticks for my 1 year old (who can’t have gluten, wheat, dairy, soya, tomatoes, apples) and my 3 year old and they loved them! Just making it for the 2nd time right now with my 3 year old. I was glad to see your suggestion of using white sauce instead of tomato sauce so I will try to make my 1 year old a special pizza too. Thank you for sharing your recipe!

  12. TheAlektera says:

    Thank you so much for this recipe. My daughter is gluten-egg-dairy intolerant and this is the BEST pizza dough recipe we’ve tried! For those who are egg-intolerant , we’ve tried duck eggs, which have a different protein in them and my daughter is fine with them. We all find them easier to digest and they are awesome in baking!

  13. Sharon says:

    Thank you so much for the delicious recipe! I made the dough yesterday and let it sit out for a couple of hours and then refrigerated. This morning I got up and made a pizza and it is so delicious! I wrapped some to see how it will taste in a few hours testing if it is lunch box friendly for my son who is gluten free. I use GF flour but the crust is rather heavier then I would like, is there a way I can make it a little lighter or flakier?

    • oddtonic says:

      Thank you! I use my own mix of flours… rice flour with tapioca starch is pretty light, about a 3 to 1 ratio. Adding almond flour gives it a light crumb, but it adds moisture too.

  14. Carrie S says:

    My son was just diagnosed with allergies to milk, wheat and egg yesterday. Last night we celebrated New Year’s at a friends and they ordered pizza. Boy, was that hard :( We had many crying and angry moments. I told him I would find a way for him to have pizza again. I can’t wait to try this pizza dough recipe. Thank you!

    • oddtonic says:

      Oh boy, that’s rough. Try to add his fav toppings, and if you can find it- there are some awesome melty rice and almond cheeses. I don’t like to recommend soy because I became sensitized after replacing all my milk-habit with soy subs. Go easy on it, if you do. Hope it works for ya!

  15. lynneta says:

    i have sohrgram flour, brown rice flour tapioca millet, quinoa.. what would you recommend.. been wanting pizza.

    thanks

    • oddtonic says:

      I would recommend like 2 parts brown rice flour to 1 part tapioca flor and 1 part quinoa. The tapioca flour will give it some flexibility and the quinoa is rich tasting. Sorghum has a flavor better suited to pancakes or gingerbread, so I would skip it for pizza. I haven’t used millet flour, but I’d bet you do that OR quinoa for slightly different flavor/texture :)

  16. Helen Hunt says:

    Hey, I’ve been gluten wheat dairy and citrus intolerant for quite a while now and the pre made pizza bases in the supermarkets have citric acid In them which I also can’t have :-( so this recipe is perfect, thank you so much for sharing your recipes with us :-) hope all is well with you and your family xx

Leave a Reply

